West Virginia Residents Five Day Fishing License
During the recent legislative session, West Virginia law makers addressed a couple of items related to hunting and fishing in the state. One such change was the introduction of a five day resident fishing license. Such a license had always been available for non-residents. However, any resident of West Virginian who wanted to fish had to buy the full year license for $19. Under the new law, those that may wish to fish a lot but maybe a day or two with family members or during a vacation will now be able to purchase a license for this shorter duration. The five-day resident license would cost $8.
To me, this is a little misleading as it appears that a conservation stamp ($5) is still required for anglers with this license as well as a trout stamp ($10) if they plan to fish for trout. This would make the full cost for a resident wishing to trout fish for a weekend getaway $23 but I guess this still represents a cost savings.
I will continue to purchase the Sportsman package allowing me to hunt and fish in all seasons but this may be a good fit for the vacationing once a year fisherman.
For the full text of the bill as passed, please view it on the legislative website.
For information about other West Virginia hunting and fishing licenses, please visit the WV DNR site.